Rain Goes Away, Season Starts

Needless to say, pretty much everything went wrong last Thursday as I was looking forward to doing my first broadcast sitting in for Zack Bayrouty as the Ports took on the Sacramento River Cats in the 8th Annual home and home exhibition.

First… the rains. Torrential at times, needed as always, but for really the first time this whole rainy season, just downpours and scattered showers. Just far enough apart to not outright cancel the game, but ever present enough to…

Second, move the start time up half an hour. After I had arranged my schedule and day to arrive a half an hour before the start time.

As I walked in to the stadium, the final strains of the National Anthem were fading, and before I could completely set up, the first pitch was thrown. I had no scorecard, no line up, no real roster and no time to even go to the head before the start. I was flustered and frustrated, but ever the radio broadcast professional, I pretty much winged it. After an inning, I just figured I’d have some fun and was able to relax a bit and be myself.

It wasn’t Zack, but I did have fun.

Until they finally called the game because of the rain after five and half innings. Final score, Sacramento 3, Stockton 1.

The season got underway Thursday with an exciting Ports win in Visalia, marred by a back spasm to starting pitcher Josh Bowman (no relation) in the 4th Inning.

Game two saw first round draft pick Billy McKinney hit a pair of homers from the lead off spot, but I am already concerned about the defense. In the exhibition the Ports had three errors in four innings. Last night, two wild pitches and an error lead to the winning run for Visalia.

In my ancestral home town, Oklahoma City, Max Stassi opens the season with 2 RBI – including the game winner – on a 1 for 5 night as the Red Hawks down Lousiville 7-6 in 11 Innings. 

Max Stassi

Posted on April 5, 2014, in 2014 Season, Baseball, Minor Legue, Ports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

